|
<< Turn Your Blog Into A Book... | Main | Cold Calling Phobia >>
Your PayPal Account Has Been ViolatedMonday, March 21, 2005
» Filed Under: Scams and Stuff
Dear PayPal Member: Looking at the source code for this HTML message, I find that the links are directed to "user-service.com" - a site design identical to PayPal.com. Here's the whois info: USER-SERVICE.COM I forwarded the entire message including headers to the PayPal fraud department at: spoof@paypal.com where they confirmed it's a scam. One of the top 10 signs of a fake email trying to obtain your PayPal username and password is: Generic greetings (see above). Many spoof emails begin with a general greeting, such as: "Dear PayPal member." If you do not see your first and last name, be suspicious and do not click on any links or button. Read PayPal's 10 ways to recognize fake (spoof) emails.
He said - She said...
Ugh, I get those all of the time. Great idea posting the WhoIs info! Posted by: Julee on March 24, 2005 08:37 AMIf you use Outlook or Outlook Express you can get a free anti-spoof toolbar from Cloudmark. It comes with 30 days of free spam protection, but the spoof protection is always free. Posted by: Dave on April 2, 2005 06:23 PMThanks for the link, Dave! I wasn't aware that a proection tool was even available. ~ Carmen : ) Posted by: Carmen Maranon on April 9, 2005 11:59 AMSubscribe to Follow-Up Comments:
Post a comment
TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.marketingchick.com/blog/mt-tb.cgi/140 Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 'Your PayPal Account Has Been Violated' from A Marketing Chick Diary. |