Your PayPal Account Has Been Violated
Dear PayPal Member:
Attention! Your PayPal account has been violated!
Someone with ip address 149.225.126.87 tried to access your personal account!
Please click the link below and enter your account information on the following page to confirm that you are not currently away. You have 3 days to confirm account information or your account will be locked.
Looking at the source code for this HTML message, I find that the links are directed to “user-service.com” - a site design identical to PayPal.com.
Here’s the whois info:
USER-SERVICE.COM
Registrant: GOLDMAN, DANA
(39217950P)
16400 Collins Avenue
ISLES BEACH, FL 33160 US
Phone: +4184578311002
Domain Name: USER-SERVICE.COM
Administrative Contact :
GOLDMAN, DANA
(39217950P)
dubazik2005@gmail.com
16400 Collins Avenue
ISLES BEACH, FL 33160 US
Phone: +4184578311002
Technical Contact :
AMEN (IPIQLJVZWO)
internic@amen.uk.com
29th Floor
One Canada Square
Canary Wharf
LONDON, e14 5dy UK
Phone: +448704446778
Record expires on 12-Mar-2006
Record created on 12-Mar-2005
Database last updated on 12-Mar-2005
Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS
NS1.AMENWORLD.COM 62.193.206.145
NS2.AMENWORLD.COM 217.174.202.226
I forwarded the entire message including headers to the PayPal fraud department at: spoof@paypal.com where they confirmed it’s a scam.
One of the top 10 signs of a fake email trying to obtain your PayPal username and password is: Generic greetings (see above). Many spoof emails begin with a general greeting, such as: “Dear PayPal member.” If you do not see your first and last name, be suspicious and do not click on any links or button.
Read PayPal’s 10 ways to recognize fake (spoof) emails.
3 comments:
Write a comment:
« « Turn Your Blog Into A Book… | *H* | Cold Calling Phobia » »


Ugh, I get those all of the time. Great idea posting the WhoIs info!
If you use Outlook or Outlook Express you can get a free anti-spoof toolbar from Cloudmark. It comes with 30 days of free spam protection, but the spoof protection is always free.
Thanks for the link, Dave! I wasn’t aware that a proection tool was even available.
~ Carmen : )